Editing a Checklist

Global vs Local items

Checklist allows you to create items that are global to all issues meaning that every global item that you create, update, or delete is immediately reflected in all the issues that match the custom field context. This provides a great tool for enforcing processes across all issues. Parallel to global items, you can also create local items that are specific to an issue. This allows users to complement Checklists with items that have only meaning within the issue.

Global items are added as Options in the Checklist Configuration Page. You can add a local item while editing a JIRA issue. 

Properties of global items:

  • Set status
  • Mark the status as completed


Properties of local items:

  • Set status.
  • Update item.
  • Delete item.
  • Reorder item.

Marking an item as completed

In the edit mode, you can change the state of a Checklist item by selecting the check box beside the item. The system toggles the check mark inside the box to set the item as completed or not. When the item cannot be edited, clicking the text also toggles the check mark.

Adding an item to the issue

To add a Checklist item to the issue, focus on the text area underneath the list and start typing. Press the Enter key to convert the text into a Checklist item.

The markup syntax used in Checklist-V2 can be used as well in order to initialise the Checklist item at the same time without leaving the text area.

TypingGeneratesComments

* Item 1

Creates a mandatory Checklist item. Equivalent to not typing the asterisk at all.
** Item 2
Creates a mandatory Checklist item but checked.
(*) Item 3
Creates an optional Checklist item.
(**) Item 4
Creates an optional Checklist item but checked.

Editing an item

To edit local items (to the issue), perform the following steps:

  1. Click anywhere on the text or on the pencil icon that appears when you move over the item.
    This opens the inline editor where you can change the text but also make the item mandatory or delete it.
  2. Click Save or anywhere outside the editor to commit the changes.
    To cancel the changes, click Cancel.

The global items which cannot be edited are always displayed at the top of the list and do not show a pencil icon when moved over.

Reordering items

You can reorder items which are local to the issue. To do so, move over an item, click and hold the drag bar, and move the item to the desired position.

Bulk operations (Check, Uncheck, Reset)

You can select and deselect all the Checklist items in one step by accessing the gear menu at the top right corner. You can also reset the Checklist which removes all the items and reset the global items.

Restricting edition of items

If you want to prevent anyone from modifying Checklist items (add, remove, modify text), you can set the role that a user must have from the configuration page. By doing so, you can allow/disallow a user's access to the inline edit mode. Users that do not have the edit role can mark items as completed and set their statuses.